Home News World mountain Running Trophy

World mountain Running Trophy


Clonliffe’s Brian McMahon 24th Brian McMahon (Clonliffe) finished a very creditable 24th of 157 finishers in the World Trophy in Sierre-Crans Montana in Switzerland. The senior men race started with a stiff 1200m climb after 1500m into the race. McMahon was in 40th at the top of this climb and he moved up to 27th at the 6 km mark before progressing to 24th at the end of the 12 km race. McMahons performance placed him 17th among European runners and by finishing within 3 minutes and 31 seconds of the winner he has put himself immediately into the upper echelons of elite mountain runners.

Behind McMahon the Irish team packed very well for a fine 16th of 27 teams. Mark Ryan (Rathfarnham) ran strongly to finish 98th in his debut international as did Sean Hehir (Rathfarnham) who finished seconds behind Ryan in 100th place. Barry Minnock completed the scoring team in 108th despite suffering from an illness in the days leading into the race. This was the best senior mens result on European soil since 1998 and augurs well for the inaugural World mountain running championships in 2009.

Up front there was a titanic battle between runners from three continents with many times champion Jonathan Wyatt (NZL), Martin Toroitich (UGA) and Ahmet Aslan (TUR). However such was the overall standard up front that it was only towards the end of the race that these three eventually assured themselves of the individual medals. Uganda had come into the race with high hopes bringing with them the 29th, 47th and 50th finishers in the 2008 World cross-country championships. It was Aslan who led the first steep climb through 3 kilometres. As reigning European champion he was intent on pushing a strong pace. At half-way Toroitich had taken over from Aslan with Wyatt back in a close fifth. Up the final steep hill to the finish in Crans Montana it was Wyatt who pushed on for a hard-earned victory.

Edel Mooney was best of the Irish women in 47th place leading the team to 14th place. Mooney was supported by Mags Greenan (Clonliffe) in 71st and Donna Mahon (Rathfarnham) in 77th for 15th of 21 teams. This was also the best senior women result on European soil since 1998. Up front the Austrian Andrea Mayr won from Italians Renate Rungger and European champion Elisa Desco. Norwegian Kirsten Otterbu was 4th showing she has recovered quickly from her 2:34.35 marathon in Beijing.

The Irish junior men packed very well for 13th of 15 teams with Michael Dowling (West Wicklow) the top finisher in 54th just ahead of Emmet Jennings (DSD) in 56th and Eoin Rowan (North Sligo) in 57th. This was the best performance since Italy in 2004 when Colm Turner (Limerick) finished 23rd. Norwegian Sindre Buraas took a surprise victory reflecting the rapid growth that Norway is witnessing in mountain running in recent years.

The junior women team was 15th of 18 teams benefitting from a good run by Michell Finn (Duhallow) in 24th. She was supported by her sister Gayle in 40th and Eimear Tangney (Spa Muckross) in 45th. England, appearing as a separate home nation for the last time, won both the individual race through Laura park and the team race.

A record number of 38 countries took part in the event.

Senior men individual (157 finishers)
1. Jonathan Wyatt (NZl) 55.03
2. Martin Toroitich (Uga) 55.16
3. Ahmet Aslan (Tur) 55.25
24. Brian McMahon 58.34
98. Mark Ryan 64.02
100. Sean Hehir 64.13
108. Barry Minnock 65.08
116. Michael Kelly 66.10
127. Peter OFarrell 68.36

Senior men team (27 teams)
1. Italy 43
2. Switzerland 59
3. USA 76
6. England 132
13. Scotland 278
16. Ireland 330
19. Wales 365
21. Northern Ireland 447

Senior women individual (95 finishers)
1. Andrea Mayr (Aut) 43.57
2. Renate Rungger (Ita) 44.57
3. Elisa Desco (Ita) 45.29
47. Edel Mooney 51.54
71. Mags Greenan 54.45
77. Donna Mahon 55.20
90. Orla Ni Mhuircheartaigh 60.19

Senior women team (21 teams)
1. Norway 24
2. Switzerland 25
3. Italy 33
4. England 62
6. Scotland 81
14. Ireland 195
15. Wales 199
16. Northern Ireland 202

Junior men individual (74 finishers)
1. Sindre Buraas (Nor) 42.12
2. Riccardo Sterni (Ita) 42.25
3. Mevlut Savaser (Tur) 42.43
54. Michael Dowling 48.06
56. Emmet Jennings 48.14
57. Eoin ORuadhain 48.18
68. Kian Jennings 52.31

Junior men team (15 teams)
1. Turkey 13
2. Norway 20
3. Italy 35
7. Wales 69
9. Scotland 93
10. England 126
13. Ireland 167
15. Northern Ireland 194

Junior women individual (48 finishers)
1. Laura Park (Eng) 22.34
2. Esra Gullu (Tur) 23.07
3. Alex Dunne (USA) 23.33
24. Michelle Finn 25.54
40. Gayle Finn 28.19
45. Eimear Tangney 29.45

Junior women team (18 teams)
1. England 8
2. Turkey 11
3. Switzerland 22
6. Wales 35
11. Scotland 42
15. Ireland 64