Home News Triathlon Ireland Awards Dinner

Triathlon Ireland Awards Dinner


Noble picks up Vodafone Athlete of the Year Award Triathlon Ireland’s annual awards dinner takes place in the Aviva Stadium on Saturday 3rd November from 6pm.

With a variety of prestigious awards up for grabs the evening is set to attract a host of top domestic and international triathletes including Olympian’s Aileen Morrison and Gavin Noble.

Olympic boxer Darren O’Neill, race walking star Rob Heffernan and modern pentathlete Natalya Coyle will also be attending the awards dinner and providing insight into their Olympic experience during a Q&A session.

Enniskillen’s Gavin Noble who produced a thrilling performance at the Olympic Games will pick up the Vodafone Athlete of the Year Award on the night. Noble beat off stiff competition from fellow Olympian Aileen Morrison, Ironman UK and 70.3 Winner Eimear Mullan, top long distance Duathlete David Vaughan and World University Games representative Russell White.

In domestic racing top honours will go to Cork’s Trevor Woods and Meath’s Marie Boland who came out on top after the twenty three race-long Vodafone National Series. With the best five results to count, Woods clocked up 629.27 points edging clear of Shane Scully of Nenagh in 2nd and Bryan McCrystal of Dundalk in 3rd.

Bolan finished on 542.7 points, just 4 ahead of Vanessa Fenton of the Dublin based 3D Triathlon Club. Cork’s Katie Cooke, who also managed to pick up the Kinetica Sprint Championships, finished in 3rd.

The 2012 Kinetica Standard Distance Championships which took place in Athlone in late June attached over 2000 competitors. Professional Long Distance triathlete Bryan McCrystal who recently foiled the efforts of a jewellery thief who attempted to steal from the family business came out on top in the men’s race and will pick up his trophy of Saturday night. McCrystal had a close battle with Kerry man Mark Nolan who took victory in the Kinetica Sprint Championships but lost out on this occasion. British and Irish Duathlon Champion Paul Carroll was 3rd.

In the women’s race Aoife Lynch of the Dublin based Pulse Triathlon Club will pick up the Kinetica Standard Distance Championship trophy. Lynch edged out Jennifer Duffy from Piranha Triathlon Club in 2nd and Dubai based Deirdre Casey in 3rd.