Home News Top names added to AB Travel Ballyfin Junior-Cross start-lists

Top names added to AB Travel Ballyfin Junior-Cross start-lists


The countdown to the AB Travel Ballyfin Junior-Cross continues with more top names added to both the men’s and women’s races which will take place in Emo Court, Co. Laois on 8th October. Liam Brady (Tullamore Harriers), Ryan McDermott (Dromore) and Sean Tobin (Clonmel) have confirmed their participation in the men’s race.

 Brady was 3rd in the first running of the event in 2009 and was second last year. Since then he has won the under 19 All-Ireland cross country championships and the Celtic junior international and competed at the European track and field championships in the 10,000m event. This could be his year to grab that elusive AB Travel Ballyfin Junior-Cross title. Tobin and McDermott will be up for the challenge however. McDermott is national junior 5000m champion and narrowly missed out on making the Irish team for last year’s European cross country championships. While younger than his rivals, Tobin is one of the hottest prospects in Irish athletics. He followed up a successful cross country season with a schools’ intermediate 3000m title and a 4th place finish at the European Youth Olympic Festival over the same distance.
Former winner and last year’s runner-up Mary Mulhare has been added to the line up for the women’s race. Mulhare has been one of the top performers on the cross country circuit over the last few years and was on the Irish team for the European championships in 2009. She will have stiff opposition in Dunshaughlin’s Shauna Moore who was third in this year’s inter-clubs and national under 19 cross country champion, Tinryland’s Mary-Ann O’Sullivan. Junior 5000m champion, Imogen Cotter of Ennis Track and under 18 1500m and steeplechase champion, Siobhan McGinley of Celtic DCH will also be aiming to make an impact.
Individual prizes have been increased this year as well as extended to the top six in each race. There will also be cash prizes for the top three teams in the two under 20 races.
Prize details for the U-20 races are as follows:
Individual Prizes:
1st – Eur 110
2nd – Eur 60
3rd – Eur 35
4th – Eur 30
5th – Eur 25
6th – Eur 20
Team prizes:
U-20 Ladies (3 to score)
1st: 90 Euro
2nd: 60 Euro
3rd: 60 Euro
U-20 Men (3 to score)
1st: 90 Euro
2nd: 60 Euro
3rd: 60 Euro
Race distances:
U-20 Ladies 2600m 1:00pm (Born 1998, 1997, 1996, 1995, 1994, 1993, 1992)
U-20 Men 4000m 1:20pm (Born 1996, 1995, 1994, 1993, 1992)
U-11 Girls 600m 11:55am (Born 2002, 2001)
U-11 Boys 600m 12:05pm (Born 2002, 2001)
U-13 Girls 1000m 12:15pm (Born 2000, 1999)
U-13 Boys 1000m 12:30pm (Born 2000, 1999)
U-15 Boys 1600m 12:45pm (Born 1998, 1997)
Further information can be obtained from race director Cormac Fitzpatrick at 086-8366561 or [email protected]. Alternatively, please visit our website www.ballyfincrosscountry.com.