Home News Tom Fitzpatrick wins ERP Christmas Cracker 5k

Tom Fitzpatrick wins ERP Christmas Cracker 5k


from Clonliffe harriers AC Tallaght AC`s Tom Fitzpatrick was a comfortable winner of today`s ERP Christmas Cracker 5k from an entry of over 300 runners. Fitzpatrick was at the head of the field from the off and as the athletes left the Morton Stadium took control building up a 6 second lead over Eddie McGinley (Annadale) by half way and after the Northwood/Ballymun/Santry Avenue loop re entered the stadium well clear to win in 14.42 with McGinley 2nd in 15.08. 3rd was last year`s runner up, Emmet Dunleavy (Sligo AC) 15.24, Simon Ryan (Raheny) 4th, and from Clonliffe Dave Fitzmaurice (15.28) with club mate Michael McDiarmada 6th (15.38).

First woman was Kerry Harty (Newcastles AC) in an impressive 16.50, 2nd Elish Kelly (Raheny) 17.12, 3rd Theresa McGloin (Finn Valley) 17.23, 4th Ailish Malone 18.21 leading home fellow Clonliffe athletes, 5th Emma Cooper (18.21) and Louise Reilly (18.56).

In the team competion Raheny (4,12,14 and 15) took the mens team win from Clonliffe with the positions reversed in the womens where Clonliffe won (4,5 and 10) from Raheny.

It was particularily pleasing to see such a good turn out of junior athletes in the Cracker. Junior girls 1st Isabelle Carron (Skerries), 2nd Rona Pierse (Skerries) 3rd Laura Tuite (Clonliffe). Boys 1st Keith Fallon (GCH), 2nd Lim Ashton (Clonliffe) 3rd Cathal Doyle (Clonliffe).

Clonliffe Harriers would like to thank ERP for their support as a partner in the race, Last Lap Cafe, Amphibian King and all the officials on the day and the athletes for coming out to run the Cracker. We hope you enjoyed the experience.

Full results and pictures :

Tom Fitzpatrick wins ERP Christmas Cracker 5k