Home News Sokolov and Ivanova retain Dublin marathon titles

Sokolov and Ivanova retain Dublin marathon titles


The 28 th Dublin City Marathon saw almost 11,000 athletes from all walks of life taking part today. Russian athletes Aleksey Sokolov and Alina Ivanova retained their Dublin titles with respective wins. . Russia’s Aleksey Sokolov Sokolov set a record time of 2:11:39 when winning here 12 months ago but improved on that when crossing the line in a world class 2:09:07 today.

Indeed, it proved to be the fastest Dublin marathon in history.

His compatriot Ivanova crossed the line in 2:29:20 – the third fastest women’s winning time.

For the fourth year running, the number of entries exceeded the 10,000 mark with more than half of those taking part from Ireland.

The marathon also attracted the strongest field in its history, with the winners of the 2004, 2005 and 2006 men’s races all competing.

While the elite runners have finished the course, thousands are still pounding the capital’s streets.

Russias’ Alina Ivanova wins the ladies section of the 28th Dublin Richie Powell of Wales retained his wheelchair title while Michael O’Connor of Galway and Tullamore’s Pauline Curley were the best placed Irish athletes in the men and womens races.

Galway City Harrier Mike O’Connor claimed the national marathon title in Dublin today with a fine display of tactical running. His 2:25:48 was enough to de-throne last year’s National Champion Cian McLoughlin and bring the title back to Galway