Home News NI Mountain Runners compete in World Championships

NI Mountain Runners compete in World Championships


from Athletics Northern Ireland Top local mountain runners head out to the Alps this week to compete in the World Mountain Running Championship. The 24th edition of the World event takes place at Crans Montana in Switzerland this weekend and athletes from 35 countries will be competing in the prestigious event. Northern Ireland will be represented by teams in the senior men’s, senior women’s and junior men’s races. The course are “uphill only” climbing from the Rhone valley to finish in the resort of Crans Montana at an altitude of 5,000 feet. The senior men race over an 8 mile course with 3,400 feet climb while the women and junior men tackle a 5 mile course with a climb of 2,400 feet.

The men’s team includes All Ireland Champion Stephen Duncan NI Champion Des Woods, and Neil Carty who will be competing in his 17th consecutive World Championship. Edward Hanna has two World appearances to date, while David O’Flaherty and Andrew Niblock make their debut.

Fiona Maxwell, NI Champion and British over 40Champion heads the women’s team which includes All Ireland Champion Angela Speight and Hill & Dale Champions Alwynne Shannon and Shalene Ward. Shannon and Maxwell have regularly competed in the World event while Speight ran last year as a junior and Ward makes her debut. The Omagh trio of James Speight, Andrew Fisher and Conor Moore are joined by Jason Wilson on the junior men’s squad with Moore and Wilson making their second appearance in the event. Marty McVeigh is the team manager for the squad of 14 athletes.

Senior Men
Des Woods Mourne Runners
David O’Flaherty Newcaslte AC
Edward Hanna Mourne Runners
Stephen Duncan Omagh Harriers
Neil Carty North Belfast Harriers
Andrew Niblock Mourne Runners

Senior Women
Fiona Maxwell Mourne Runners
Alwynne Shannon Mourne Runners
Shalene Ward Mourne Runners
Angela Speight Omagh Harriers

Junior Men
James Speight Omagh Harriers
Andrew Fisher Omagh Harriers
Conor Moore Omagh Harriers
Jason Wilson Pegasus AC

Team Managers Martin McVeigh, Barbara Brown & Ian Taylor.

Brian Ervine, NIMRA Press Officer