Home News New Junior 800m record for Ciara Mageean

New Junior 800m record for Ciara Mageean


from A.A.I Claire Brady gets Athlete of the Meet award
Day 2 of the Woodie’s DIY Irish Indoor championships produced another day of very interesting competition, with plenty to talk about. Athletes delight at their performances were very obvious all day, and none was as delighted as Colin Costello from Star of the Sea who won the 1,500m.

The former European junior 1,500m champion has endured a long period of injury, and, as he described it himself “a taste of the good life that relegated running into second place”. His Arkansas scholarship also suffered, but now he is back with coach Robert Denmead and is fast returning to his best.

James O’Hare from East Down did most of the front running before Conor Healy from Clonliffe Harriers took from over with two laps remaining. All the time Costello remained well placed and then sprinted for home with just under a lap to go. The result was never in doubt after that and in the end he proved a comfortable winner, with Healy second and Andrew Monaghan from Lagan Valley third.

The women’s 1,500m saw Deirdre Byrne from Sli Cualannn AC back on track after her 3k win yesterday. Once again she took the lead and pushed the pace before stepping out to lane 2 at the bell to allow Kelly McNiece from City of Lisburn through, and she duly won in a time of 4:14.63, a time that qualifies her for the World indoor championships and vastly improves on her previous indoor best of 4:21.01 from 2007.

Brian Gregan from Clonliffe Harriers ‘fell asleep’ yesterday in the qualifying heats and instead of the main event in the quarter he ran the ‘B’ final instead. He ran a tremendous race though and won impressively with a new PB into the bargain. He admits his mistake from yesterday and said ‘it won’t happen again’. The inter varsities is his next outing.
In the ‘A’ final NickHogan from DSD AC, fastest in the heats yesterday, repeated his performance and won comfortably in 48.59, with Tim Crowe from Dooneen AC adding silver to his Irish junior silver.

Jo Patterson from Ballymena & Antrim led from the gun in the women’s 400m and then had to withstand a very strong challenge from Claire Mooney from Naas AC to win in a time of 56.43 to Mooney’s 56.60.

Kieran Kelly from Fr. Murphy AC set a new championship best performance in the shot with a throw of 18.85m, well clear of second placed Jamie Stevenson from Essex Beagles in England with 16.98m.

Claire Brady’s season of improvement continued in the final of the 60m. The Celbridge AC athlete ran a tremendous final and won very impressively from Ailis McSweney from Leevale in second and Niamh Whelan from Ferrybank third. Brady’s winning time of 7.35 was inside the qualifying standard for the World championships and it puts her in sight of Anna Boyle’s Irish record of 7.30.

Derval O’Rourke from Leevale was thrilled with her 8.18 wining time in the 60m hurdles. After a month of rest due to injury she did her first hurdles session last Tuesday and went into today’s race in a nervous state. Her immediate reaction after the race was ‘I’m so relieved to have that out of the way’. She heads to Doha quietly confident of putting in a medal winning performance.

Ciara Mageean from City of Lisburn took the lead from the start of the 800m and simply outran all her rivals as she sprinted to victory. Her winning time of 2:07.82 is a new Irish junior record, bettering Arlene Smith’s 1991 record of 2:08.74.

The men’s 800m never turned out to be the race everyone expected, but it proved to be a personal triumph for James McIlroy from Ballymena & Antrim. He was close to the front from the gun and sprinted well clear on the last lap to win very easily in a time of 1:52.23, with David McCarthy from Le Cheile AC second.

Paul Hession from Ahenry AC put in another polished performance to win the 60m in a time of 6.75, with Dean Adams from Ballymena & Antrim again reducing his PB to.89.

Eoin Hannon from Tullamore Harriers added 8cm to his long jump PB when he won the long jump with a leap of 7.40cm, while Bary Pender from St. Abban’s won the high jump with 2.15m.