Home News Munster Win Inter-Provincial Relay as part of GAA 125 Celebrations

Munster Win Inter-Provincial Relay as part of GAA 125 Celebrations


from AAI Derval O’Rourke of Leevale AC rounded off what has been an outstanding week for the athlete by captaining Munster to glory in Croke Park yesterday, winning the Inter-Provincial Relay which formed part of GAA 125 Celebrations.

O’Rourke was joined by club-mates, Ailis McSweeney and David Quilligan, Cork Ladies Football star Angela Walsh, Clare Hurler James McEnerney and David O’Shea of Dooneen AC.

The GAA guest of honour Olive Loughnane of Loughrea AC, received a hero’s welcome, as she lead the teams out onto the pitch after her tremendous silver medal performance at the World Championships in the 20km walk.

The team captains, David Gillick (Leinster), Paul Hession (Connaught), Anna Boyle (Ulster) and Derval O’Rourke (Munster) were introduced to the crowd as the atmosphere began to build among the 50,000 plus spectators.

Munster was drawn in Lane 1, Connaught Lane 2, Ulster Lane 3 and Leinster Lane 4. It was a competitive race throughout with spectators getting truly involved in what was will get a unique opportunity to see Ireland’s elite athletes battle it out alongside GAA stars in Croke Park. The warmest reception was given to O’Rourke, with many of the Cork contingent chatting her name in Hill 16 as she waited to receive the baton. The Cork woman didn’t disappoint and ran a storming leg before passing onto footballer Angela Walsh.

Mirroring the action on the pitch that day Munster got the better of Ulster to win the Super Sprint relay race in what was a very tight finish between Stuart Connor (St. Michael’s, Enniskillen AC) and David O’Shea (Dooneen AC).

The teams meet at the home of Athletics in Ireland, Morton Stadium and were then brought by bus to the home of the GAA, Croke Park. The athletes had a specially allocated warm-up zone in the tunnel that surrounds Croke Park. There was a sense of camaraderie in the provincial teams which were made up of both athletes and GAA players. It provided a great opportunity for many of our up and coming stars to interact with Ireland’s talented elite athletes. Close to the time of walk-out to the pitch captains took the time to give motivational team talks. O’Rourke’s was a simple message ‘Just Win’.

Inter-Provincial Super Sprint Relay
Celebrating 125 Years of the GAA
Leg 1 Leg 2 Leg 3 Leg 4 Leg 5 Leg 6
Lane 1 Ailis McSweeney
Leevale AC David Quilligan
Leevale AC James McEnerney
Hurling *Derval O’Rourke
Leevale AC Angela Walsh
Ladies Football David O’Shea
Dooneen AC
Lane 2 Caoimhe King
Westport AC *Paul Hession
Athenry AC Alan Kerins
Hurling Sharon Kilduff
Claremorris AC Paul Brady
Handball Lorcan O’Cathain
Roscommon AC
Lane 3 *Anna Boyle
Ballymena and Antrim AC Jonathan Holmes
Kilkenny City Harriers AC James Loughrey
Mary Mc Loone
Tir Chonaill AC
Philip Brady
Stuart Connor
St. Michael’s AC

Lane 4 Louise Kiernan
Fingallians AC
Stephen Colvert
Crusaders AC
Coman Goggins
Clare Bergin
Dundrum South Dublin AC Ciara Durkan
*David Gillick
Dundrum South Dublin AC


Sinéad Galvin
Marketing Manager
Athletics Ireland

Tel: 01 886 9963
Mob: 087 9748052