Home News Michael O’Connor claims 2008 Irish National Marathon title

Michael O’Connor claims 2008 Irish National Marathon title


from Galway City Harriers Ukranian Andriy Naumov is the 2008 winner of the Lifestyle Sports adidas Dublin Marathon, in a time of 2h:11m:06s. Clearly overjoyed with his win, he looked like he had another 10 miles at least in him as he crossed the finish line in obviously comfortable form.

Thomas Omwenga (Kenya) was 2nd, 1m:23s behind Naumov in 2h:12m:29s and Tomas Abyu (GBR) 3rd, in 2h:13m:06s

Russian Larissa Zouska was the first woman home, overtaking leader Haile Kebebush (ETH) in the last mile for a close finish. Zousko won in 2h:29m:55s, 8 seconds ahead of Kebebush in 2h:30m:03s

Third home was Hadish Letay Negash (ETH) in 2h:31m:13s

Best of the Irish was Michael O’Connor from Galway, in 2h:20m:49s, while former Olympian Maria McCambridge was the first Irish woman home in 2h:36m:33s.

Congrats to the following GCH runners on their excellent finishing times today:

2h:38m:45s Conor Moloney (Race #1212)
2h:43m:41s Ian Egan (Race #11348)
2h:49m:09s Ruaidhrí Geraghty (Race #9761)
2h:56m:31s John O’Brien (Race #11164)
3h:13m:40s Regina Casey (Race #10498)
3h:15m:25s Gerry Carty (Race #1242)
3h:45m:00s Donal Nelson (Race #TBD)
3h:57m:49s Caitriona Shanahan (Race #9085)
4h:26m:21s Gina Concannon (Race #2642)
4h:47m:43s Una Murphy (Race #5956)