Home News Maria McCambridge & Sergiu Ciobanu Crowned 2014 National Marathon Champions

Maria McCambridge & Sergiu Ciobanu Crowned 2014 National Marathon Champions


2014 National Marathon Champions Maria McCambridge (Dundrum South Dublin AC) and Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe Harriers AC) were crowned 2014 National Marathon Champions after winning their respective categories on a perfect day for running in Dublin City. A record number of 14,000 participants took to the capital’s street to tackle the classic marathon distance on Bank Monday, 27th of October. Amongst the 14,000 were 3,000 club runners contesting the national championships with McCambridge and Ciobanu coming out on top.

 Women’s Race

McCambridge was the star of the day as the Dublin native knocked over a minute off her previous best to win the 2014 national title in a time of 2:34.19. Her previous best was 2:35.28 which she set two years ago when she won the national marathon title for the first time. McCambridge also claimed victory in 2013, making this year’s win her third straight victory. The time also moves her to number eight on the Irish all time lists.

It was almost an overall victory for McCambridge, however Kenyan athlete Esther Macharia just managed to hold on for victory, four seconds ahead of McCambridge in a time of 2.34.15.

The battle for the podium in the national championships was between Pauline Curley (Tullamore Harriers AC) and Breege Connolly (North Belfast Harriers AC). Curley proved the stronger over the second part of the race to finish second in a time of 2:48.02 with Connolly third in 2:49.37.

Men’s Race

Ciobanu dominated the men’s national championships race today winning the title in a time of 2:21.01. Ciobanu passed through the half-way point in 69:22 and although slowing over the second half of the race he gritted it out to win the national title. Ciobanu was determined to win the title today having placed third in last year’s national marathon championships.

Rathfarnham WSAF duo of Barry Minnock and Eoin Flynn produced solid performances to place second and third respectively in the championship race. Minnock recorded a time of 2.22.42 with Flynn a couple of minutes behind in third with a time of 2.25.01

Eliud Too of Kenya was the first athlete across the line in a time of 2:14.46


Source: Athletics Ireland

Video: Dublin Marathon