Home News KitKat Munster Schools Country Championships At Tramore Racecourse

KitKat Munster Schools Country Championships At Tramore Racecourse


Tramore racecourse provides break with tradition Tramore racecourse provided a new venue for the Munster schools cross country championships, a big change from the usual St. Augustine’s in Dungarvan. For those experiencing cross country for the first time – and there were more than a few – this was a very tough course, with a long drawn out hill made even tougher with the soft underfoot conditions. Tis was also the first time the Munster schools were held on a day other than a Saturday.

The day started reasonably well, but then the sea fog rolled in over the course and it suddenly became very cold. And, with long delays between races, the event suffered.

The senior boys race turned into a real head-to-head between Niall Tuohy from Waterford and Craig Murphy from Cork, renewing the rivalry that saw them finish fourth and fifth respectively in the Woodie’s DIY inter county championships before Christmas.

From the start it was evident what the race tactics would be as Murphy set the pace and Tuohy was content to sit in behind. Murphy made several attempts to break free but Tuohy always managed to make up the ground.
So it was laft to the final quarter mile to decide the race, and this is where Tuohy, better known as a half miler, came into his own as he sprinted for the line and a well worked victory. They meet again in the Woodie’s DIY junior inter club championships in Belfast on March 1st.

Another Waterford runner, Lorraine McCarthy, sister of Providence based David, never looked like she would be beaten, and so it proved as she coasted to a comfortable win.


Senior Boys:
1 N Tuohy (Yeats College Waterford);
2 C Murphy (Douglas Community School);
3 P Hogan (DLS Waterford);
4 N McCormack (High School Clonmel);
5 M Carmody (Castletroy College);
6 D Tobin (Thurles CBS);
1 Douglas Community School 41;
2 Midleton CBS 86;
3 Thurles CBS 110;

Intermediate Boys:
1 R Creech (Glanmire Community College);
2 C O’Brien (Thurles CBS);
3 J Harrington (MICC Dunmanway);
4 V Molumby (Thurles CBS);
5 L Markham (St Flannan’s);
6 P Hanrahan (Douglas Community School);
1 Douglas Community School 41;
2 Thurles CBS 67;
3 S Flannan’s 87;

Junior Boys:
1 D O Croinin (Colaiste an Phiarsaigh);
2 J O’Regan (St Joseph’s Kilkee);
3 E Brew (St Joseph’s Kilkee);
4 D Mullins (St Goban’s Bantry);
5 D Moore (St Mary’s Newport);
6 S Fitzgerald (St Mary’s Newport);
1 St Joseph’s Kilkee 67;
2 Douglas Community School 93;
3 Midleton CBS 110;

Minor Boys:
1 E O’Donnell (Colaliste na Trocaire (Rathkeale);
2 S Tobin (High School Clonmel);
3 D Mullane (Colaiste na Trocaire Rathkeale);
4 J Murphy (High School Clonmel);
5 P Crowley (Glanmire Community College)
6 E Everard (MICC Dunmanway);
1 High School Clonmel 45;
2 Colaiste na Trocaire Rathkeale 84;
3 Thurles CBS 85;

Senior Girls:
1 L McCarthy (St Augustine’s Dungarvan);
2 C Madigan (Kilrush Community School);
3 K Walsh (Ursuline Waterford);
4 C Kelly (St Ailbe’s Tipperary);
5 B Walsh (Ursuline Waterford);
6 N Ryan (Abbey CC Waterford);
1 Ursuline Waterford 15;
2 Ursuline Thurles 38;
3 St Augustine’s Dungarvan 39;

Intermediate Girls:
1 E Tagney (St Brigid’s Killarney);
2 S Moloney (Ursuline Thurles);
3 O Farmer (St Mary’s Midleton);
4 A M Hayes (Ursuline Thurles);
5 L Behan (St Declan’s Kilmacthomas);
6 F Guilfoyle (St Flannan’s);
1 Ursuline Thurles 18;
2 Ard Scoil na nDeise 41;
3 St Declan’s Kilmacthomas 47;

Junior Girls:
1 E Kennedy (Presentation Thurles);
2 A O’Donoghue (Villiers School Limerick);
3 K Veale (St Augustine’s);
4 M Kiely (Ursuline Waterford);
5 J Neville (Mount Mercy Cork);
6 C Neville (Mount Mercy Cork);
1 Ursuline Waterford 31;
2 Ursuline Thurles 51;
3 St Mary’s Nenagh 67;

Minor Girls:
1 B Lynch (St Mary’s Midleton);
2 N de Hora (Pobal Scoil Chorca Dhughne);
3 S Fagan (Mount Mercy College Cork);
4 S Harvey (St Joseph’s Kilkee);
5 A O’Sullivan (Stella Maris Tramore);
6 L Egan (St Michael’s Kilmihil);
1 Stella Maris Tramore 37;
2 St Joseph’s Kilkee 38;
3 Pobal Scoil Chorca Dhuibhne 41.