Home News Fagan Third in Great Ireland Run

Fagan Third in Great Ireland Run


Martin Fagan of Mullingar Harriers put in a top class performance to finish third at the 10k SPAR Great Ireland Run in the Phoenix Park Fagan looked comfortable throughout however the Mullingar man was unable to respond when Jesus Espana, the 2006 European 5,000 metres gold medallist, produced a lethal finish in the final 1200 metres to clinch the men’s title in a time of 29:26

Finland’s Jussi Utriainen overtook Fagan in the closer stages to finish second.
Fagan did successfully retain his title as the Woodie’s DIY 10k National Champion in a time of 29:35. The reigning Inter-county and Interclub Cross Country Champion Joe Sweeney of Dundrum South Dublin finished second in 30:42. While Ed McGinley (Annadale Striders) took third place in 30:46.

In the women’s race teenager Charlotte Purdue (GBR) underlined her incredible potential with a runaway victory over vastly more experienced opponents. The 19-year-old won the 10-kilometre contest in a time of 32 minutes and 42 seconds, 21 seconds clear of second-placed Gemma Steel (GBR) with Nadia Ejjafini (ITA) third in 33mins 09secs.

Morocco-born Ejjafini, who competes for Italy, set a testing early pace which proved too much for pre-race favourite Berhane Adere of Ethiopia and the Irish duo of Mary Cullen (North Sligo AC) and Fionnuala Briton (Kilcoole AC).

Britton finished seventh in the Elite field in 34:10, taking the National title over Cullen, who finished 12 seconds behind. Ava Hutchinson of Dundrum South Dublin AC who recently won the Woodie’s DIY Interclub Championships was third in 34:43.

Woodie’s DIY 10k Championships of Ireland


1. Martin Fagan (Mullingar Harriers) 29:35
2. Joe Sweeney (DSD) 30:42
3. Ed McGinley (Annadale Striders) 30:46
4. Tommy Evans (Gowran AC) 31:17
5. Sean Hehir (Rathfarnham AC) 31:19
6. Thomas Fitzpatrick (Tallaght AC) 31:27


1. Fionnuala Britton (Kilcoole AC) 34:10
2. Mary Cullen (North Sligo AC) 34:22
3. Ava Hutchinson (DSD) 34:43
4. Aoife Talty (Raheny Shamrocks) 35:40
5. Julie Turley (Dromore AC) 35:56
6. Lizzie Lee (Leevale AC) 35:57

SPAR Great Ireland Run 2011


1. Jesus Espana (Spain) 29:26
2. Jussi Utriainen (Finland) 29:31
3. Martin Fagan (Ireland) 29:35
4. Sergiy Lebid (Ukraine) 29:53
5. Andrew Carlson (USA) 30:00
6. Matt Gabrielson (USA) 30:08


1. Charlotte Purdue (Great Britain) 32:42
2. Gemma Steel (Great Britain) 33:03
3. Nadia Ejjafini (Italy) 33:09
4. Aniko Kalovics (Hungary) 33:32
5. Berhane Adere (Ethiopia) 33:54
6. Delores Checa (Spain) 33:57

SPAR Junior Great Ireland Run 2011

1. David Harper (Westport AC) 9:14
2. Eoin Taggart (Greystones AC) 9:36
3. Samuel Allen (Donore Harriers) 9:42


1. Cassie Murphy (DSD) 10:45
2. Edele Colemand (Mullingar Harriers) 11:03
3. Lorraine Daly (Mullingar Harriers) 11:09