Report: A record field of 306 runners hit the roads of Dunshaughlin for the 29th running of the 10km road race. Right from the gun the men’s race developed into a two man dual between Mark Keneally (Clonliffe) and Vinny Mulvey (Raheny). These two went through the first mile in 4.37 and by two mile (9.28) Keneally had opened a 10 metre gap. The lead was stretched to over 100m by the 5KM mark (14.45) but Mulvey refused to give up and by the 9km mark he had got back on level terms with Keneally. It took a sprint finish to separate these two in the end and Keneally’s superior speed proved the difference. He crossed the line in 29.45 just 2 seconds ahead of Mulvey. Their times put them 3rd and 4th respectively on the all time list. There was a great battle for third, which was won by local athlete Robbie Mathews, knocking over a minute off his PB in a time of 31.36 just ahead of Noel Kelly from Mullingar, with Paul Buckley and defending champion Dave Byrne 5th and 6th respectively.

Eoin Brady (Raheny) was the first veteran home in 32.21 just 4 seconds ahead of Mick Byrne who was setting a new M45 record. Chris Keeling (050), Pat Comey (055) and Jim McNamara (060), Sean Wall (Jun) were the best of their respective categories. SBR from Ferns in Wexford defended their team title in fine style from Sportsworld and Raheny Shamrocks.

The reigning Evening Herald Ladies Mini Marathon Champion, Anette Kealy, knocked 10 seconds off Mary Donoghue’s 7 year old record with a brilliant time of 34.50 which put her well clear of Elizabeth Cluskey (Tullamore) and Fiona Mahon (Donore Harriers). Mahon led her big Donore contingent to victory in the team event for the 2nd year in a row from Sportsworld and Na Fianna. Catherine Dunne (035), Denise Ryan (040), Linda Gunning (045), Helen Ingram (050) and Evelyn McNelis (055) were the best of their respective categories.

Local hero, the 1999 GAA Footballer of the Year, Trevor Giles swapped his football boots for running shoes and finished strongly in 45 minutes.