Home News Craughwell Handicap 5km Chase

Craughwell Handicap 5km Chase


39 runners turned out on a beautiful warm autumn evening to race the last of this years handicap chase series. It turned out to be one of the best races of the series with close finishes and lots of pb’s recorded. In fact 2/3 of the entrants beat all their previous times on the course, proving that Galway is getting fitter! In a storming finish – Lisa McCormack powered home in first place taking another large chunk off her handicap. With a 1st and 2nd position in the bag, she would have been a dead cert for overall league winner had she ran a third race. Well done Lisa. Lisa was followed home by another big improver – Niall Woodlock who took almost 2 minutes from his handicap. John Martin was third home on the day in a classy 23:12.

Fastest runner was Tim Glavey of Mayo AC in an excellent 17:26. Tim was closely followed home by Darragh O’Brien and Johnny Lane (who set himself a pb by almost 30 seconds on the course). Ann Carter was home fastest among the ladies in a superb 19:31, 8th fastest overall out the the male-dominated field.

League Standings
Overall winner was decided by the person with the highest finishing position over three races. After 4 races and many miles, Diarmuid Quill took the league title, winning out just ahead ahead of Pat Moran and Gabriel Gardiner. Well done Diarmuid!

The fastest runner prize was awarded to the runner who ran a minimum of two races with the best pb. I won the male category with a 16:24, and Jo Gardiner won the female category with 22:02. Both those times were beaten during the series, but not by someone who turned up more than once.

Thanks everyone who attended the races, I hope you enjoyed them – keep up the running and we might see you back next year.

Thanks to the Fitzpatrick girls for acting as photographers for the day!!

Full details at https://www.craughwellac.com