Home News Connacht Juvenille Indoors

Connacht Juvenille Indoors


from Athenry AC The Connacht indoor juvenile athletic finals were held in Nenagh recently, 42 athletes from Athenry competed in these finals where they won 7 Gold, 6 Silver and 8 Bronze medals in the individual events and 1Gold and 1 Bronze medal in the relays. The following were the individual medal winners;
The Gold medal winners were Eilis Hynes U13 Shot Putt, Stephen Coleman U13 Shot Putt, Hannah Kindregan U16 Shot Putt, Maria Cooney in the U 15 60m Hurdles and the U15 Long Jump, Orlaith McGrath in the U15 60m and Sorcha Murphy in the U17 High Jump.

The Silver medal winners were Kate Gallagher in the U14 60m Hurdles, Joey Quinn in the U13 Shot Putt, Leitica Collins in the U16 60m Hurdles, Sinead Tuohy in the U17 60m Hurdles and Serena Hansberry in the U18 High Jump and U18 Triple Jump.

Photos here https://www.athenryac.com/image-galleries/connacht-indoors-2009

The Bronze medal winners were Jack Fitzpatrick in the U 12 600m, Stephen Coleman in the U13 60m, Marie Tuohy in the U15 800m,Emma Grady in the U14 Shot Putt, Cian Kelly in the U15 60m, Sorcha Murphy in the U17 Long Jump, Clara Burke in the U17 60m Hurdles and Serena Hansberry in the U18 800m.

The Members of the relay teams that won medals were;
The under 15 girls who won gold were Maria Cooney, Marie Tuohy, Hayleigh Sommers and Orlaith McGrath, the under 12 girls who won bronze were Eimear and Niamh Keane, Grace Cahill and Rachel O Brien.
The boys under 12 relay team of Jack Fitzpatrick, Jack Dempsey, Niall Kenny and Killian Johnson were in a Gold medal winning position when they unluckily dropped the baton.

Others to compete for Athenry were Keith Whyte, Niamh Donnellan, Aine Clancy, Aoife Farrell, Daniel Rooney, Mac Murphy, Sarah Gaughran, Ciara Burke, Lorna Hannon, Melinda Earls, Darragh Whyte, Fiona Joyce, Lisa Murphy, Yvonne Keary, Helen Geraghty, Shane Conway and Cathal Kelly.
Well done to all, the next competition will be the Galway County Outdoor finals in Dangan on the 2nd and 3rd of May.