Home News ChampionChip Ireland Half Marathon Series

ChampionChip Ireland Half Marathon Series


It has been a long hard season for the runners taking part in the 7 race ChampionChip Ireland Half Marathon Series this year with the first event way back in March in Omagh and the conclusion at Waterside in September. Over 7000 runners have taken part, many setting personal bests along the way. Key sponsor is eaga Heat and the series is organised in association with the governing body, Athletics Northern Ireland and running store Up & Running.

The Series incorporated seven of the top Half Marathon’s in Northern Ireland between March and July and has a total prize fund of £3,500. Omagh, Larne, Newry, Lisburn, Ards, Cookstown and the Waterside in Derry were all included in the Grand Prix Series. It would have taken a brave man to predict that 15 brave souls would manage to complete all 7 races. Even more remarkably 4 of them are also winners of their age groups.


1.       Female Prize Winners


Back L-R: Richard Rodgers (eaga Heat), John Glover (Athletics NI President), Joanne Curran, Geraldine Quigley, Barbara McKeever, Mary Duffin, Patricia Campbell, Mabel McFall, Catriona McCorkill (Up & Running), Glenn Grant (ChampionChip Ireland & Series Organiser)

Front Seated- Julie Balmer, Roberta Dornan, Brigid Quinn, Delores Mulholland


2.       Male Prize Winners


Back L- R: Glen Grant (ChampionChip Ireland & Series Organiser), John T Glover (Athletics NI President) , Sam Hogg, Ted Gilliland, Richard Rowe, Gerard McNamara, Catriona McCorkill (Up & Running), Richard Rodgers (eaga Heat)

Front Seated- Francis Marsh, Conor Curran, Gary Keenan, Jim Breen


3.       Participated in all 7 Half Marathons


L -R Richard Rodgers, John Glover, Angus McCready, Philip Doyle, Michael McKeown, Rick McGhee, Pat O’Driscoll, Cat, Glenn Grant (ChampionChip Ireland & Series Organiser)

Front Seated- Gary Keenan, David Reid, Geraldine Quigley, Barbara McKeever, John Daye, Adrian Daye


For more information and to view information on the Half Marathon Series please visit www.niathletics.org