Home News Celtic Wins for Brady and Mulhare

Celtic Wins for Brady and Mulhare


Apart from a heavy shower during the girls U17 race the weather held up well at the Woodie’s DIY masters, intermediates, juvenile B and Celtic cross country at ALSAA today. Underfoot conditions suffered as a result of heavy rain in the hours leading up to the event that resulted in the organisers making slight changes to the course.

Liam Brady (Tullamore Harriers), winner of the U19 title a few weeks ago, headed a strong Irish U20 team as part of the Celtic international. He has obviously gained in confidence as a result of that win and took over the lead after a lap. Ross Matheson from Scotland put up a strong challenge and went with him. Brady tried hard to pull away on several occasions only for Matheson to close again. Halfway through the last lap they were together, but Brady again dug deep and finally broke away to win in good style. Matheson held on to second and was followed home by Sean Tobin who ran a great race to be third. Scotland were team winners.

A second Celtic win followed when Michael Mulhare broke away from the field at an early stage and cruised to an easy U23 victory, held in conjunction with the intermediate championships. Derek Hawkins from Scotland chased him home, with fellow Scot Paul Leck third. Scotland won the team.
Mulhare was also competing as an intermediate, so he takes two titles home with him. Michael Herlihy from North Cork was second and Brian McGinley from Ennis Track third.

There was another runaway victory when Peter Matthews (Dundrum South Dublin AC), competing in the V1 category, raced away from the field to win the masters title. Pauric McKinney (Letterkenny AC) was second and John Harkin (Tullamore Harriers) third.

The women’s masters provided a good battle up-front before Annette Kealy (Raheny Shamrock AC) broke clear and she went on to win from Carmel Crowley (Bandon AC) who was having one of her best races ever. Pauline Curley (Tullamore Harriers) was third.

Megan Withers of Wales won the U17 Celtic from Sarah Fitzpatrick of Ireland and Oonagh Dunnett of Scotland, with Wales the team winners.
Lewis Boyle of Scotland won the boys U17 from Neil Gourley of Scotland and Matthew Edwards of Wales, with Scotland team winners.
Rhona Aukland of Scotland won the U20 race ahead of Natasha Cocram from Wales and Halina Rees of Scotland. Scotland won the team contest.

Scotland also provided the women’s U23 winner with Christina Rankin crossing the line ahead of Alaw Thomas Beyon from Wales and Una Britton representing Ireland. Wales were team winners.