Home News Autumn Sun Shines on 2010 Dublin Marathon Runners

Autumn Sun Shines on 2010 Dublin Marathon Runners


from the Athletics Association of Ireland It was a record-breaking Dublin City Marathon all round yesterday as Moses Kibet lowered the course record in claiming the men’s title in 2 hours 8 minutes and 58 seconds.
When Moses Kibet failed to make the grade as a soccer player in Kenya he turned to running and today he experienced the greatest day of his sporting life when he smashed the course record to win the 31st adidas-Lifestyle Dublin marathon.
“I loved playing soccer but I found it difficult to make my local team and so I turned to running and the experience for me here today is beyond my wildest dreams” said the 26 year old Kibet, who sprinted home to break the three year old record of 2:09.07 by 19 seconds when clocking 2:08.58, the best time ever run on Irish soil.

It’s also a world class performance and one that will put the Dublin race on the map like never before. “It means that the top runners around the world will want to run the race in the future” said a delighted Race Director, Jim Aughney.

In fact it was a super day for the event for not alone did Kibet smash the record set in 2007 by Aleksey Sokolov, but new ground was also cut in the women’s event when 33 year old Russian, Tatiana Aryasova, knocked 73 seconds off the previous best time set by Ruth Kutoi of Kenya in 2003.

The overall improvement in the standards of the race were reflected in the fact that the top five men were in 2:10 territory or better.

It was also a super day for two athletes born abroad but now living and working in Ireland as they won the Woodie’s DIY Irish Marathon Championship titles. Barbara Sanchez of Raheny, a native of France, took the women’s gold medal in 2:39.40, while the very popular Sergiu Ciobanu, born in Moldovia but working in Cahir, retained his men’s title when breaking 2:20 for the first time as he crossed the line in 2:19.33.

Members of the Marathon Mission team competed well. Joe McAllister from Belfast clocked a personal best of 2:21.04 to take the silver medal behind Ciobanu, while the bronze went to Greg Roberts from City of Derry in 2:21.20.

Paul Hannon, a 41 year old from Keady, Co Armagh took the wheelchair race in a great time of 2:20.38 over Johnny Fulham.

Sanchez denied 2008 Olympian Pauline Curley of another Irish title by a margin of 20 seconds while Lorraine Manning of Raheny, took the bronze in 2:46.16.

Over 13,000 runners, the highest number in the event’s 31-year history, set off on the 26.2 mile course from Fitzwilliam Square at 9am this morning. The race finished in Merrion Square.

Men: 1, Moses Kibet (Kenya) 2:08.58 (course record). 2, Fidaku Kedir (Ethiopia) 2:09.44. 3, Mourice Musyoki (Kenya) 2:10.25. 4, Chesoo Kipchirchir (Kenya) 2:10.27. 5, Aleksey Sokolov (Russia) 2:10.31. 6, Andriy Topton (Ukraine) 2:13.33.

Irish Marathon Championship: 1, Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe) 2:19.33. 2, Joe McAllister (St Malachy’s) 2:21.04. 3, Gerry Roberts (City of Derry) 2:21.20.
Wheelchair Race: P Hannon (Armagh) 2:20.38.

Women: 1, Tatiana Aryasova (Russia) 2:26.13. 2, Kateryna Stetson (Ukraine) 2:27.51. 3, Elsa Kireeva (Russia) 2:28.02.

Irish Marathon Championship: 1, Barbara Sanchez (Raheny) 2:39.40. 2, Pauline Curley (Tullamore) 2:44.00. 3, Lorraine Manning (Raheny) 2:46.16.